- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 15364Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 5/3/2007RE: Adult Lyn Nielsen of Sydney, NSW Australia asks...A goalkeeper catches the ball and controls it. He then drops it and dribles it outside his penaly area then dribbles it back into his penalty area. He then picks it up and kicks it downfield.
I'm pretty sure this is punishable by an indirect free kick to the attacking team.
Pretty sure is not good enough. Can you help? Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino You are correct!!!!! Once he relinquishes control from his hands, he may not legally handle it again until it touches another player.
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profileAnswer provided by Referee Ben Mueller Correct! If keeper releases ball, then he must wait until ball touches another player before he handles it deliberatly again.
Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller
View Referee Ben Mueller profileAnswer provided by Referee Gary Voshol You are correct. It's right in the text of Law 12, talking about the goalkeeper: "touches the ball again with his hands after it has been released from his possession and has not touched any other player." Since dribbling about by himself doesn't involve any other player, the keeper can't pick up the ball again.
Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol
View Referee Gary Voshol profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15364
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|