Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 15379

Other 5/4/2007

RE: Rec Adult

Nate of Houston, TX USA asks...

I play on an indoor co-ed league that uses a "3-touch" rule for the guys - more than 3 touches on the ball without another player (from either team) touching the ball is a foul.

My question relates to a player who has used his 3 touches and then prevents an opponent from trying to take the ball. Instead of taking a fourth touch, he faces the ball (back to the approaching opponent) and uses his body, arms etc., to prevent the opponent from recovering the ball, until another teammate can get to the ball instead.

Is this considered impeding the progress of the opponent, or is this fair play? Are there limits to what would be considered acceptable shielding and what is impeding?

Thanks.

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

Sorry, you elected to play and have fun in a league that doesn't use the Laws of the Game or US Indoor Rules. The answer is not available to anyone but the person who changed things. Please feel free to ask that person.



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

Ah the tangled web we weave,
When we first attempt to [mess with the rules]

The law of unintended consequences strikes again. While some well-meaning committee has modified the rules to create their version of fairness, they haven't specified what happens after the 3 touches are over. Normally a player is allowed to shield the ball, for whatever reason he deems necessary - to allow it to roll out of play, to allow a teammate to play it. There is a condition applied though - the player must be capable of playing the ball if he so chooses. Now your modified rules say he cannot play the ball - but are silent on whether he could shield the ball. I suggest you put your query to your rules-makers. And if they decide shielding cannot be done, what is the restart? (Can you tell we're generally opposed to meddling with the established Laws? Yeah, we're kind of biased that way.)

Note that whatever the situation, any shielding must be done fairly. You mention the player using arms to prohibit the access of his opponent. That might be holding.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15379
Read other Q & A regarding Other

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>