- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 15381Law 11 - Offside 5/4/2007RE: competitive Adult Craig Randle of Vancouver , B.C. Canada asks...This question is a follow up to question 15270 Hi Guys..Thanks for your input on my question 15270 regarding the recinding of red cards. I passed the info along to those involved. My question this time concerns the offside rule. Please clarify this--a player runs offside. A ball is played up to him and before he plays it or the ref blows his whistle, he realizes where he is and turns back without playing it. I am assuming he needs to get back onside by getting in front of the last defender but when can he run back towards the ball? I watched a game where a player was told by his coach-DONT TOUCH THE BALL!- until the opposing team touches it. Sounds confusing but this all happened in about 4 seconds, so the pressure was on the official to make a very quick call or non-call. It looked to me like the striker did not run all the way back, and eventually did get the advantage. The ref was silent during this play. Thanks for your time. Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller The referee needs to decide if the player in the offside position got involved in play. It is possible for an attacker to get involved in play w/o touching the ball. If a player tuns his back to the ball w/o playing it, then he most likely did not involve himself w/ play. That is unless he impeded another opponents view or movement.
Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller
View Referee Ben Mueller profileAnswer provided by Referee Gary Voshol If he waits until the defense passes him, he is no longer in an offside position. But has offside been reset? Not until something else happens. He can't just run to an onside position, and then decide to become involved in play.
Offside can be reset by the opposition taking control of the ball, or by the offside-positioned player not being in an offside position when a teammate next touches the ball, or if the ball goes out of play. The player cannot do anything on his own that will reset offside considerations.
Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol
View Referee Gary Voshol profileAnswer provided by Referee Keith Contarino Hi Craig. One of those pleasant times when the coach is correct, well sort of. A player in offside position when the ball is played or touched by a teammate CANNOT put himself onside. He may not actively participate in play until offside is reset by 1. an opponent controlling the ball (touching is not enough) 2. A teammate touches the ball and he's no longer in offside position, or 3. the ball goes out of play
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profileAnswer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer Initially, the only time this player should be given offside is when he interferes with an opponent by blocking his vision, path or interferes with play by the ball hitting him. When he starts moving around things change. he is able to interfere with an opponent much more easily. Further, until the ball is touched by one of his own side AND he has found a position not offside he must not participate. If his opponents gain control of the ball the restrictions of Law 11 no longer apply until his side, again, touches the ball and his offside position has not changed.
Regards,
Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer
View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15381
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|