- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 15383Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 5/5/2007RE: Other pete atkin of rotherham, uk asks...a g/keeper catches the ball.then pushes it up his jersey runs the length of the field, gets to the other goal line lifts his jersey up and kicks ball into the net, is it a goal Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol Of course not. It's unsporting behavior and the goalkeeper should be cautioned. At the very least, it's playing in a dangerous manner, because the goalkeeper has put himself in a position where it would be dangerous for an opponent to attempt to play the ball. Also, as he opens up his shirt at the other end of the field, the shirt can be considered an extension of his hand, so now he is using his shirt to help him handle the ball.
As my colleagues said, the play should never have gotten as far as the other end of the field. Put a stop to it the moment it starts.
Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol
View Referee Gary Voshol profileAnswer provided by Referee Keith Contarino No and the keeper should have been stopped the moment he put the ball under his shirt. This is classic example of unsporting behavior.
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profileAnswer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer This keeper won't take one step! As soon as it goes under his jersey the whistle sounds. He is cautioned and shown the yellow card for unsporting behaviour. The restart of play is indirect free kick where the goalkeeper was when the ball disappeared, subject to the special circumstances of Law 8.
Regards,
Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer
View Referee Chuck Fleischer profileAnswer provided by Referee Steve Montanino This is totally unlawful. The moment I see this he gets cautioned for 'UB'. That means play is stopped and the goalkeeper's opponents are awarded and indirect free kick at the point of the offense. OR if he somehow figured a way to make this occur outside the penalty area without carrying it over the line to do it, it would still be considered deliberate handling as the shirt comes to act like his arm. Then a yellow card for 'UB' and a direct kick are in order.
Either way - no goalkeeper is going to get away with this (or at least they shouldn't).
Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino
View Referee Steve Montanino profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15383
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|