- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 15422Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 5/8/2007RE: Rec Under 13 Brian of Baltimore, MD USA asks...The goal keeper from Team A has possession of the ball in his/her hands after a save. There is a foul away from the ball at midfield (the opposing player from Team B is holding a player from Team A) What is the restart and I was assuming the player that was holding should be cautioned with a yellow card?? What if the foul took place in the penalty area? What if the foul was against team A? Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer Brian the restart of play is at the point of the infraction unless a direct free kick offense that is given by a team inside its own penalty area or an indirect free kick offence inside a goal area where the special circumstances of Law 8 apply. It makes no difference where the ball is when the offence happens. Do not assume there is a caution involved because the Law tells the referee when to caution.
Regards,
Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer
View Referee Chuck Fleischer profileAnswer provided by Referee Debbie Hoelscher The ball is in play in the goal keeper's hands. You observe foul play in the middle of the field. You blow your whistle to stop play. Restart is where the foul occurred. Did the foul occur in the PA? Apparantly not, but instead, the middle of the field. Ball goes to the point of the infraction. Team against whom the foul was committed gets the free kick -- Direct free kick for the holding. If you chose to stop play ONLY to give a caution, then the restart is at the point of the infraction (where the player to be cautioned was) and the opposing team gets an Indirect Free kick.
Read other questions answered by Referee Debbie Hoelscher
View Referee Debbie Hoelscher profileAnswer provided by Referee Steve Montanino What does the player gain by holding an opponent near the halfway line whilst the keeper holds it? Probably nothing. It looks like they might be trying to start something. keep an eye on it and if it seems like he's doing something unsporting - then he should be cautioned. Most off the ball fouls are going to be cautioned anyway, but you really need to know what has happened before you issue any caution or send-off, there are always exceptions.
Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino
View Referee Steve Montanino profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15422
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|