- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 15425Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 5/8/2007RE: rec Under 11 william ott of gaithersburg, maryland usa asks...If a defender passes the ball back to his/her keeper while the keeper is still in the box, as we see often in pro soccer, may the keeper pick up the ball and punt it?
In our last game the local referee called a handball and gave the opposing team an indirect free kick when this happened.
Afterwards, when I questioned the call, politely of course, the referee insisted that FIFA rules state that the keeper may only dribble/kick the ball if it is passed to him/her by a defender and not touched by the other team. Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol Law 12 says, "An indirect free kick is awarded to the opposing team if a goalkeeper, inside his own penalty area, ... touches the ball with his hands after it has been deliberately kicked to him by a team-mate." The decision made by the ref in your game appears to be correct, assuming the pass to the keeper was a deliberate kick. He might have explained it better, leaving out the word handball which does not appear anywhere in the Laws of the Game.
Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol
View Referee Gary Voshol profileAnswer provided by Referee Steve Montanino The referee was correct, minus the wording of the explaination, but he got the call right.
It looks like you might fine a reading of the FIFA laws of the game useful so you won't need to question the referee after a game, it could save you a bit of embaressment and the referee a little aggravation.
Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino
View Referee Steve Montanino profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15425
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|