Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 15430

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 5/8/2007

RE: Rec Under 13

Steve C of Ottawa, Ontario Canada asks...

I have always considered that when the goalkeeper has possession of the ball all players have a duty at that point to back away and leave the keeper unchallenged in his attempt to begin the new phase of play. I have always based this on my understanding that if an attacking player tries to gain possession of the ball from the keeper they should be penalised for dangerous play insofar as they are attempting to kick the ball away from the keeper who has an arm or hand or arms or hands on the ball. I carried this thought process through in my mind to all challenges on the keeper who has possession even the keeper who is standing fully upright. But recently my understanding was challenged by another coach who pointed out to me that if it is not considered dangerous play when a regular player challenges another regular player with a legal shoulder charge, why should it be considered dangerous play when a regular player exercises a legal shoulder charge against a goalkeeper in possession of the ball with both players standing. Perhaps with this legal shoulder charge the keeper can be made to fumble and drop the ball he is holding after which the attacker can kick the dropped ball into the net. What do you make of this argument? Under what circumstances would you consider something like this either acceptable or unacceptable, and if unacceptable what is the infraction?
Thanks
Steve

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

Steve a long time ago charging the keeper into his goals was a legitimate goal. Then along came the goal area, an area in which he could not be challenged. The old Law XII, [from 1937]

A player committing any of the following five offences: ....

4. charging the goalkeeper except when he

[a] is holding the ball;
[b] is obstructing an opponent;
[c] has passed outside his goal-area.

shall be penalised by the award of an indirect free kick to be taken... yada, yada 'n stuff. International FA Board Decision 15 talked about control.

All of that was removed in 1997 IFAB Dec 15 became 3 and the keeper could not be challenged inside his penalty area. It was an offence to prevent the keeper from releasing the ball from his hands [mind you, not dangerous play as you state].

Today once the keeper has possession per IFAB Dec 3 Law 12 he is safe from getting run over and thumped into his goals.

As to your mate's perceived "shoulder charge", he is mistaken!! Charging is legal ONLY when the ball is the ultimate target and the contact is made shoulder to shoulder at a level less than careless. Once that contact is made the VERY next thing that should happen is contact is made with the ball. If there is no ball contact then all that's left is foul play, to wit charging or tackles an opponent to gain possession of the ball, making contact with the opponent before touching the ball, be it the keeper or an outfield player.

Please don't teach your players this, they won't understand when a referee sends them off, which - sooner or later - will happen.

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

Once keeper has control of ball, all defenders cannot challenge keeper any more. The attackers need not back away, but if keeper moves off to punt or get rid of ball that attacker cannot challenge keeper. Shoulder to shoulder is not always legal and fair. If a player is using his shoulder to charge into another player, then we have a foul. If both players bump shoulder at same time in an effort to go for the ball and neither player charges the other in any way, then it is clean. Remember the pure fact that it is shoulder to shoulder does not make it ok. The referee needs to evaluate what happend exactly and make a decision on the facts. Either way once the keeper has ball, all attackers must allow the keeper to get rid of ball.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15430
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 15447

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>