- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 15451Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 5/11/2007RE: Competive High School Eric of Raleigh, NC USA asks...My question involves a play back to the keeper. If the keeper is on team A and someone from team B has sent the ball down near the box. The keeper goes outside the box and brings the ball back in the box with his feet. Is the keeper allowed to pick the ball up with his hands or was he considered a field player when he left the box and can't pick it up? Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol This is perfectly all right. Although HS has some rules that differ from FIFA, they are the same in this case. Law 12 says the goalkeeper is prohibited in using his hands under 3 conditions: ? touches the ball again with his hands after it has been released from his possession and has not touched any other player ? touches the ball with his hands after it has been deliberately kicked to him by a team-mate ? touches the ball with his hands after he has received it directly from a throw-in taken by a team-mate
Since he didn't previously have the ball in hand possession, the first point is moot. And since the ball was not delivered to him by a teammate, the 2nd and 3rd points do not apply.
The goalkeeper does not become a "field player" by leaving the penalty area. Each team must always have exactly one goalkeeper, identified by being dressed in the different spiderman colors. When the keeper leaves the goal area, he loses his ability to handle the ball - but he regains it immediately when he reenters the penalty area.
Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol
View Referee Gary Voshol profileAnswer provided by Referee Keith Contarino He may legally pick it up just the same as if he had received the ball from the opponent inside his penalty area.
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profileAnswer provided by Referee Ben Mueller Absolutly! The keeper can dribble the ball back into the penalty area (not box) and use his hands. Only if his own teammate would have deliberatly kicked the ball to the keeper could he not do this.
Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller
View Referee Ben Mueller profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15451
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|