- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 15465Law 15 - Throw In 5/13/2007RE: College Mohamed Hijazi of Beirut, Lebanon asks...a player throws d ball in. bt without touching any other player in the pitch, it goes directly out the touch line again. is the throw in retaken, or played by d other team and why?
deep regards. Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino If it came inbounds and then went out of bounds over the touch line it would be a throw-in for the opponents.
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profileAnswer provided by Referee Ben Mueller If it came in ON THE FLY and then went out, then the other team gets the throw. Remember lines define boundaries so the touchline is part of the field. Thus a ball touching the plane of the touchline is on field and ball is in play.
Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller
View Referee Ben Mueller profileAnswer provided by Referee Steve Montanino If the ball came into contact with the touchline (either on the ground or to the imaginary line extended up into the sky) and then subsequently left the field the ball had gone into play and then out once again. So the other team would get a throw-in where the ball left the field. If the ball never came into play then the throw-in is repeated. (however in US High School games only, that is a violation and the other team would get to take the throw-in instead.)
Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino
View Referee Steve Montanino profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15465
Read other Q & A regarding Law 15 - Throw In
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|