Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 15500

Law 15 - Throw In 5/16/2007

RE: Grade 8 FIFA Certified Referee Under 19

Andrew of Camp Hill, PA USA asks...

Over the weekend I officiated a U-11 Girls Div. 1 game and during the course of play I found myself (mentally) second-guessing one of my calls on a throw-in. During the "controversial" play, a player on the team who had been awarded a throw-in picked up the ball and proceeded to throw it into play. At the initial stages of the throw, the player followed all the procedures for a proper throw-in: feet behind (or on) the line, ball straight back over the head and feet on the ground. However, while the player stepped with her foot in one direction (down the sideline), in a single fluid motion she rotated her torso 45 degrees (with her feet planted) and threw it to a teammate in the middle of the field. At this point I blew my whistle to stop play since as interpreted by the laws of the game she did not throw the ball "facing the field of play." Rather to me, it seemed that she had deceptively made a twisting motion with her body to throw off the other opposing players downfield. I therefore gave the throw-in to the opposing team. Was I correct to stop play and award a throw-in to the opposing team? Also, were my interpretations of "the field of play" reasonable as outlined in law 15? Thanks.

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

The main issue here is was she facing the field of play or not. Also, was the ball delivered from behind and over the head. If she twisted her body, she maybe did not deliver the ball over the head properly. Without seeing this, it is hard to say what I would have called or decided on. Generally if part of her body was facing the field, the throw would be accepted as legal.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

The line divides the world into two 180-degree parts. As long as the player is facing anywhere within the field-side 180 degrees, that part of Law 15 has been satisfied. It doesn't say she can't change from facing one part of that 180 degrees to another part.

I will agree with Ref Mueller, doing the twist while throwing the ball could cause the ball to not come from behind and over the head. Refs should look for that.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

Using your logic a kick-off is incorrect if it doesn't go straight ahead or a penalty taker who sets his body at the left post and beats the keeper on the right post must retake. Facing the field came to us in the 1800's it means throwing the ball in front of you.

The referee can also think of a throw-in this way: it wasn't bad it was just ugly. That way you don't have to stop things. When players say foul throw just say "Nope, just ugly -- I'll let you know if it's bad". They smile and continue running around chasing the ball.

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Steve Montanino

This should be allowed.

Also, remember as you progress into higher levels of refereeing a throw-in is a proceedure to get the ball back into play. Unless there is a glaring error, you might be able to consider some of the problems you will encounter doubtful or trifiling and allow play to go on without the added interuption. Just a thought.



Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino

View Referee Steve Montanino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15500
Read other Q & A regarding Law 15 - Throw In

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>