Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 15503

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 5/17/2007

RE: Rec Adult

Steve Cock of Ottawa, Ontario Canada asks...

This question is a follow up to question 15467

In your answers to this question [15467] I think I read between the lines that a striker who retrieves the ball from the net should be yellow carded under advice to US referees, and the striker should leave the job of collecting the ball from the back of the net to the ref or the beaten keeper or maybe one of the defenders. What do other authorities in other countries have as advice to referees on this situation ? How authoritative is the US document .. ie should players in other countries / refrees in other countries also consider that this advice pertains to them, or could it be that another national body may come up with conflicting advice to their refs?
Thanks
Steve


Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

The quote regarding provoking a confrontation is directly from the Laws of the Game as issued by FIFA/IFAB. Ref Fleischer just gave the page reference as found in the hardcopy US edition. It appears on page 71 of the online Laws on the FIFA website (36th page of the .pdf).

This provision came into effect on 1 June 2006. Prior to that, the change was tested in one of the Youth World Cups with disastrous results. The words "provoking a confrontation by" were not included in the test - so any player who touched the ball when it was not his restart was cautioned! Much better that the referees are given discretion so that the player who is merely being helpful is not penalized.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

We wrote nothing between the lines, what we wrote is nicely summarised by Ref Voshol.

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15503
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>