- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 15523Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 5/19/2007RE: travel, select Under 13 Gzim Derti of Schnecksville, PA USA asks...Two questions if I may...
First off, our keeper was called on a foul for punting the ball "past" the 18 line... But had released the ball prior to the line and tossed it up... referee called a foul w/ indirect kick??? Is this correct??? This was how it was explained to my keeper...
Second, while I understand time on the clock at the end of the half, but have you ever seen a ref call time with a corner kick still to be played???
Thanks much for your time...
Regards, Gzim (just say Zim, makes life easier...) Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino Hi Gzim! First question, if things transpired as you say and this was the referee's explanation, the referee got it wrong twice. If the ball is released inside the penalty area, it's not an offence. If the keeper carries the ball in his hands outside the penalty area , it's a DIRECT free kick not an indirect. This is a common mistake inexperienced referees make. Second question. Time is up when the referee says it is. The ball does not have to be put into play.
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profileAnswer provided by Referee Gary Voshol First question, I agree with Ref Contarino.
Second question, sure I've seen it - I've done it. The team taking the kick was making absolutely no effort to take it. Time ran out while they dithered.
Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol
View Referee Gary Voshol profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15523
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|