Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 15524

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 5/19/2007

RE: competitive Adult

Luis Perez of Columbus, Ohio USA asks...

I am a goalie and there was a situation in our game the other day when I was called for an "out of the box" infraction. The ball was inside the box and so was the upper half of my body. My legs, however, were outside of the box (i was laying on the ground basically perpendicular to the line of the box. The ref blew his whistle and awarded them a direct kick because of a "hand ball" by me? I always thought that just the ball had to be within the area, not myself. What is the correct ruling?

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

You are correct, unfortunately the ref was not. What matters is the position of the ball, nothing else. If any smidgen of the ball is over the penalty area line, it is inside "the box" and the goalkeeper is free to handle it.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Steve Montanino

As long as the ball is touching the lines that define the penalty area or any part of the plane that those lines create, the ball is considered to be within the penalty area and thus you may play it with your hands. It sounds like you were within the laws of the game here and by your description you should not have been punished for breaking the law.

It is possible that the referee felt he saw the ball was out of the penalty area when you handled it. If he believed that to be the case, then his call is correct and you simply have an argument over judgment. But - if he knew the ball was still in the Penalty area he was wrong to punish your team.



Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino

View Referee Steve Montanino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15524
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>