Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 15527

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 5/19/2007

RE: Select Under 15

Brian Marshall of Saratoga Springs, New York USA asks...

Hand ball inside penalty box.
Is this a direct kick from point of infraction or an idirect kick or a penalty kick

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

I presume you mean "deliberately handles the ball" within the "penalty area". Part of our mission to Educate and Amuse is to try to encourage the use of the correct terms of the game.

As for the restart - it could be any of the 3! We need a bit more information. Which penalty area are we talking about? Which player committed the offense?

DFK: If the ball was deliberately handled by any player in the opponent's penalty area, then the restart is a direct free kick (outbound).

PK: If the ball was deliberately handled by a player other than the goalkeeper in the team's own penalty area, it's a penalty kick.

IFK: If the ball was deliberately handled by the goalkeeper inside her own penalty area it would be an indirect free kick (inbound) if any of these apply:
(1) goalkeeper received the ball directly from a throw-in by her teammate
(2) goalkeeper received the ball that was deliberately kicked to her by a teammate
(3) goalkeeper previously had the ball in her hands, had released it, and then picked up the ball again prior to it having been touched by another player.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Steve Montanino

If a defender commits ANY foul punishable by a direct free kick inside his own penalty area then a penalty kick is awarded to the opponents. You will never see a direct free kick taken within the penalty area, except a penalty kick.

So if your question means "If a defender (other than the goalkeeper) handles the ball deliberately within his own penalty area is a penalty kick awarded to the other team?"

The answer is yes.



Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino

View Referee Steve Montanino profile

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

If it is handling the ball deliberatly by the defense, then it would be a penalty kick. Handling ball deliberatly is a dfk offense.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15527
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>