Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 15555

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 5/21/2007

RE: travel Under 13

Jason Fadell of Toledo, Ohio U.S.A. asks...

we had a u-12 game where the defender traped the ball with his foot in the pentaly area then moved aside so the goalkeeper could pick it up. would you call that as a pass to the keeper.

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

I'd say the goalkeeper handled the ball after it had last been kicked by his teammate. Advice to Referees ( http://images.ussoccer.com/Documents/cms/ussf/AdvicetoRef06.pdf ) section 12.20 says kicked means played with the foot, and to the keeper means to a place where the keeper can get it. However, the second paragraph of that section says that we are not to punish players who are playing within the Spirit of the Game. In other words, did it look unfair?



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Steve Montanino

I'd have to see it, but I suspect I might be able to answer this either way. It depends on the context of the play. In other words - you had to be there.



Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino

View Referee Steve Montanino profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Since there's no such foul as a "pass to the keeper" I wouldn't. The player has, however, clearly played the ball with his foot which is equal to deliberately kicking the ball and left it where the keeper could get it. Hence, this is deliberately kicking the ball to his keeper and the keeper may NOT subsequently handle the ball.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

Probably! The ball came from a defenders foot and it was deliberatly played to the keeper. I would need to see it to decide for sure though.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15555
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>