Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 15565

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 5/22/2007

RE: Competitive Adult

Ryan of Flower Mound, TX U.S.A. asks...

Dear Referee Panel,

A substitute cannot commit a foul, but can commit misconduct. If a substitute throws an object on the pitch that interferes with play, i.e. strikes the ball, while an opponent is attacking, the restart is an indirect free kick from where the ball was located. Is that correct? Assuming that the incident does not meet the requirements for DOGSO, the substitute is shown the yellow card for USB, but which reason would you use to justify the USB? Would you say USB for illegally entering the field of play, even though the player did not physically enter the field of play? Or would you say USB for commiting an act which in the opinion of the referee shows a lack of respect for the game? Or would you say USB for another reason described in ATR?

Here is a follow up question. If a substitute kicks a ball onto the pitch which interferes with an opponent is it any different from the player throwing the ball onto the pitch? The throwing of an object is considered an extension of the hand. Does that effect the reason for USB? I believe it may effect only in the case of DGH. Is that correct? Thanks for your time and your answers. Much appreciated.

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Yes INDFK is the correct restart for an object that is thrown at the ball Subs are held acountable the same as a player for any and all misconduct which deny a goal. The thrown object would be considered as an extension of the hand and could qualify for DOGSO if the ball was prevented from entering the goal. USB is USB it needs no more than an opinion of unsporting behaviour by the referee!

As to any action by a sub off the field where the ball or an opponent or player or referee is not involved a dropball might serve the cause as the only availble restart,
However in my opinion, kicking an extra ball to confuse or delay might be considered as a non event and await a natural stoppage if it did not interfere but if it did interfere any USB action which translate to on the field of play an INDFK could be within the laws. This includes a scream to distract or a ball rolled into the middle of a scrum. It is apparant to me that FIFA wants subs to be treated for misconduct as if they were playing despite only an INDFK restart.
cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

In this case the referee stops play because of some incident. He notes where the ball was when play stopped. During his investigation he finds that a substitute was the culprit, he cautions and shows the yellow card to the substitute for unsporting behaviour. Now the reason play stopped was to administer discipline and Law 12 demands we restart with an indirect free kick. Should the individual concerned not have been a substitute or substituted player the Law would not have defined the restart, other than in Law 8 where we find dropped ball as correct.

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

This is outside interference but by a substitute so the restart is an Indirect free kick



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15565
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>