- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 15571Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 5/22/2007RE: House League Adult Adam Scott of Kingston, Ontario Canada asks...Referance Law 16 - Goal Kick
as I understand this law, a ball is considered to have entered play when it is kicked directly beyond the penalty area.
My question surrounds the situation of a goalkeeper taking the goal kick. If the ball enters play and is deliberately handled by the keeper before another player makes contact with the ball a penalty kick is awarded if the keeper handled the ball inside the penalty area.
How is this possible to contact the ball a second time inside the penalty area if the ball is not in play until after it leaves the penalty area? Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller No no. The ball is not in play until it leaves penalty area. Once it leaves if the keeper touches it again before any other player does, the result is IFK from the spot. Even if a strong wind blows ball back in penalty area and keeper touches it, it is IFK from the spot of the second touch.
Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller
View Referee Ben Mueller profileAnswer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer Where does the keeper handle the ball, infield or outfield? If in the outfield does he handle it to prevent an opponent from scoring a goal?
Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer
View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15571
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|