- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 15603Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 5/25/2007RE: Competitive Adult Marc of Sydney, NSW Australia asks...It's a Goal Kick restart to Blues. A blues defender kicks the ball forward into play just outside the PA where the Blue keeper is standing. The keeper quickly dribbles the ball back into his penalty area, picks up the ball and kicks it down field. Is there a problem? Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller If the kicker kicked the ball to keeper deliberatly, then we have an IFK for the attackers. Key thing is with the foot and it must have been deliberate.
Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller
View Referee Ben Mueller profileAnswer provided by Referee Richard Dawson Yes it is a violation of law 12
An indirect free kick is awarded to the opposing team if a goalkeeper, inside his own penalty area, commits the following offence: -touches the ball with his hands after it has been deliberately kicked to him by a team-mate .
It is not an issue for the keeper to dribble the ball back into his penalty area after the ball leaves the penalty area after the goal kick. ONLY if he chooses to use his hands is there a problem! Cheers
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profileAnswer provided by Referee Steve Montanino This would result in an indirect free kick to the opponents where the goalkeeper picks up the ball.
Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino
View Referee Steve Montanino profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15603
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|