Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 15615

Law 13 - Free Kicks 5/26/2007

RE: select Adult

Gordon of Milwaukee, Wisconsin USA asks...

In the situation of an indirect free kick, if a player toucehs the top of the ball with his studs, and another then strikes the ball into the net - is it a goal?

Does the ball have to do a rotation? Does the 1st player have to have a kicking motion or does touching it suffice in allowing the goal?

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

No and no. The ball "must be kicked and moved" before it may be kicked by another player into the net. Yes, a "kicking" motion must be employed at least here in the USA



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

A kick is made with the foot, using a kicking motion. The ball does not have to go a full revolution, but it must move "from here to there". If the first touch is deemed by the referee not to be a kick, then the player that blasts it toward the net, is the first touch. If the ball goes in the net without touching any other player, it is not a goal. Instead, the ball has gone over the goal line and no goal was scored - the definition of a goal kick. (It would be a corner kick if they kicked it into their own goal.)

This is the position of the USSF:

USSF answer (November 14, 2005):
The kicking team is always given more leeway than the defending team for deceptive tactics, but adjusting the ball with the foot is not the same as kicking it.

We recommend for your reading this brief article, to be published in the next issue of Fair Play:
The Kick Restart
Dan Heldman and Jim Allen

This is a simple guide for referees?and for the players whose games they officiate?on what it means to kick the ball at a restart.

The first requirement of any kick restart (free kick, penalty kick, corner kick, goal kick) is that the ball be "kicked," rather than merely touched or dragged with the foot, to be considered as ?kicked.? The foot must be used, no other body part. The second requirement is that the foot must cause the ball to "move" to another place. In other words, as a result of the action of the foot, the ball goes from here to there. A simple tap on the top of the ball, even though it may cause the ball to quiver, tremble, or shake, that does not make that ball move to a new space, is not a kick. Nor is putting one's foot on the ball and dragging or rolling it to a new space considered to be a kick.

Such simple concepts?"kick" and "move?? but difficult to define without being complex, technical, or obscure. The referee has to make the final decision on what is a "kick" and what is "not a kick." This must be based on his or her feeling for the game?what FIFA calls "Fingerspitzengefuehl.? The bottom line is that not everything that produces movement of the ball is a kick and thus would not legally put the ball into play in any of the kicking restarts.

( Source: http://www.drix.net/jim/past054.html )




Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Steve Montanino

Stamping on the ball is not a kicking motion. Therefore, the ball was not in play. So, the result would be a goal kick - as an indirect kick was kicked directly into the goal.



Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino

View Referee Steve Montanino profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

You ask if a player touches and another kicks. Law 13 mentions something about a goal can't be scored until another player touches the ball after it is in play. Law 13 also mentions something about the ball having to be kicked and moved before it is in play. Your question answers itself when, of course, you include what Law 13 says.

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15615
Read other Q & A regarding Law 13 - Free Kicks

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 15636

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>