Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 15616

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 5/26/2007

RE: REC Under 19

Gene Thigpen of Killen, al usa asks...

forward takes a shot toward the goal. the keeper traps the ball with his foot. when he looks down to pick it up, he realizes that the ball is outside the box, he proceed to roll the ball back aprox 18" to bring the ball inside the box. he then proceed to pick the ball up and then kicks it out of the box...was there an infraction, and if so, what is the penalty? thanks GRT

Answer provided by Referee Steve Montanino

This play is legal. There is no violation of the laws of the game.



Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino

View Referee Steve Montanino profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

And play continues because there is no infraction. This should have been made clear in your referee instruction class.

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

A keeper is not considered to be a teammate passing to himself nor is it a circumvention of the laws. It simply is a fact of ongoing play that a keeper has the use of his hands inside his own PA !
Dribbling the ball into or out of the PA is not an infraction by the keeper. He is allowed to use his feet the same as any player.

A keeper is ONLY restricted from the use of his hands inside his own penalty area and penalized with an indfk against if he
-takes more than six seconds while controlling the ball with his hands before releasing it from his possession
-touches the ball again with his hands after it has been released from his possession and has not touched any other player
-touches the ball with his hands after it has been deliberately kicked to him by a team-mate
-touches the ball with his hands after he has received it directly from a throw-in taken by a team-mate.
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15616
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>