- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 15632Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 5/28/2007RE: select High School dan gabrilska of oshkosh, wi usa asks...Can a goalie with both feet inside the 18 yd box reach outside the box with their hands to pick up a loose ball then bring the ball back into the box. The ball was not played back to them. Our goalie was called for a hand ball infraction. Answer provided by Referee Steve Montanino The referee made the correct decision. By reaching outside the penalty area and deliberatly handling the ball, your goalkeeper committed one of the 10 direct free kick offenses.
As it is said above foot position plays no role in this decision. This is not basketball or American football.
Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino
View Referee Steve Montanino profileAnswer provided by Referee Richard Dawson HI Dan, FEET location play no part! Where was the ball when the hands made deliberate contact? If the keeper reached outside his PA to deliberately handle the ball and that ball was not overlapping or in contact with the boundry lines it is a DFK penal foul from that point and possibly cautionable or even DOGSO send offable. Cheers
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profileAnswer provided by Referee Ben Mueller It all matters where the ball is. If any part of the ball is in penalty area, then yes., If that ball is NOT inside of the penalty area, then the answer is no. Usually a good rule of thumb is...The ball and NOT the feet is what always matters in soccer (unless its a throw in).
Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller
View Referee Ben Mueller profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15632
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|