- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 15660Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 5/31/2007RE: Challenge Under 13 Rich Dower of Charlotte, NC US asks...In a very hard fought and physical U12 tournament game, two opposing players (red and white) went up for a header, the ball having been punted by red team's keeper. Both players were facing the keeper, with the red player closer to the keeper and the white player immediately behind. They both went straight up and there was no pushing involved. The white player got to the ball first and headed it forward (toward Red's goal). After (in my mind, well after) the ball was away, the red player (trying a flick-on) smashed the white player in the face with the back of his head, causing serious injury.
The ball was immediately kicked out of touch to stop play, but the referee indicated no foul. He ruled that "they were both going for the ball". In my mind, if you miss the ball and "take down" an opposing player, it is a foul whether you were going for the ball or not. The player's intent goes toward whether a card should be issued, not whether or not a foul was committed.
What is your take on this? Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller A foul occurs if in the opinion of the referee a player carelessly, recklessly, or with excessive force trips, kicks, strikes, jumps at, charges, or pushes a player. If the referee felt the act was careless, reckless, or done with excessive force a foul should have been called. Bottom line is that the nature of the play needs to be considered and without looking at it and seeing it, it is hard to say.
Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller
View Referee Ben Mueller profileAnswer provided by Referee Keith Contarino I'm just guessing but I believe if you asked the referee he would say the injury occured during the play for the ball not well after as you speculate. As Ref Mueller states, in order for this to be a foul it has to be at least careless. Oftentimes players are injured with no foul being commited.
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profileAnswer provided by Referee Richard Dawson Hi Rich, If you watched the English Premier player John Terry get kicked in the head as he tried to head the ball and no foul was awarded it gives you an insight as to what can occur in the opinion of the referee "accidently" I do agree with you though that often one player has better position and gets to the ball first where the second player needs to abandon his attempt IF possible! Often headers are done with eyes closed which we could consider careless and extra body movement be it a head whip, backing in under, jumping over the back, elbows out or arm over shoulder all could be considered misconduct be it in a in careless reckess or excessive fashion. A reasonable challange even if risky where opportunity to play the ball is there for either player momentume is difficult to halt when there appears good chance you thought you would get there first! Cheers
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profileAnswer provided by Referee Steve Montanino Ouch!
This might be a foul or might not be a foul. I would have to see it myself. However, this was not a tackle and as such the foul of "tackles an opponent to gain possession of the ball, making contact with the opponent before touching the ball" is not in consideration here.
Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino
View Referee Steve Montanino profileAnswer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer It is entirely possible to have teeth, hair and eyes all over the field not as a result of foul play just the same as it's possible for the referee to stop play, for seemingly no reason, and send-off a player who has just told him to go [disgusting word beginning with the sixth letter of the alphabet] himself. You just have to be there to see or hear what happened before you have the full picture. There was a referee there and he saw nothing. So be it.
By the way, the football goes to touch or into touch. Touch is that area beyond the longer of the field boundaries. When it's "out of touch" it is on the field and usually in play, just a thought.
Regards,
Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer
View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15660
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|