Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 15663

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 5/31/2007

RE: rec Under 11

todd goforth of reno, nv usa asks...

If a goalkeeper is laying on the ground, inside of the box, and has both hands on the ball (the ball is also touching the ground), is it legal for an opposing player to kick the ball? In this case the opposing player kicked the ball into the net and a goal was awarded.

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Todd,
if during active play a keeper has his arm/hand on the ball inside his penalty area that ball is UNPLAYABLE by an opponent. An opponent must make a reasonable effort to stop or pull out of any challange. It is possible for a ball, hand and foot to arrive at the same time making the choice difficult. It is also possible for a ball to touch then roll a bit away from the arm rendering the ball playable.
If the refere allowed the goal he was hopefully under the opinion that th ball was NOT in the keeper's possession. If he missed the possession tough luck. If he saw it but did not recognize it then he needs to check in to the nearest recertification referee program!
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Steve Montanino

I'll assume for the sake of this answer that the goalkeeper had clear possession of the ball at the time the opponent kicked it. In that case then the answer to your questions is....

No, it is not legal. A goal should not be given and a foul should be called against the attacking side.



Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino

View Referee Steve Montanino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15663
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>