Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 15681

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 6/2/2007

RE: Rec and Competitive Under 15

M. Caleb Moss of Morris, IL USA asks...

This question is a follow up to question 15628

"The goalkeeper went outside the box and gained possesion of the ball. The goalkeeper then dribbled the ball back into the box and picked the ball up."

In response to and futher opening this question:
If an opponent kicks the ball and it stops outside of the penalty area, then the keeper dribbles the ball outside of his penalty area back into it and picks it up. Does this not constitute him making himself a regular player once he starts playing it outside of the area. Also the question would be when does a keeper after controlling the ball outside of his penalty area become the "keeper" again after being considered a "regular player". So would it be legal to play the ball back into your own area after becoming a "regular player" outside of it and use your "keeper abilities" to play the ball with your hands. Wouldn't this be the same as deliberetly playing the ball to the keeper.

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

Nice bit of logic Caleb, well thought out. Right up to the time you failed to stop play when one team did not have a goalkeeper.

The logical conclusion is based of the premise a player kicking the ball to himself is the same as a team mate deliberately kicking the ball to his goalkeeper. We all know this is an incorrect assumption.

The conclusion reached by this logical discussion becomes invalid as soon as one of the elements used to support the conclusion is found invalid.

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

I'll have to disgree with your logic. The Law tells us one of the players MUST be a keeper, so the keeper is the keeper no matter where he is on the field. Your logic should be that he loses his special rights once he leaves his penalty area (or if he reaches outside his penalty area to play the ball with his hands), and only has the rights of a "regular" player, but he can never "become" a regular player.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15681
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>