Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 15683

Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play 6/2/2007

RE: Rec Adult

Christian Tyrrell of Hartford, CT USA asks...

I just want to confirm a call. The goalie clearly stopped the ball from entering the goal. The goalie then got up and put down the ball to kick it away from the goal area.

As the goalie placed the ball down to kick it, the opposing coach was yelling for the attacking player to challenge the ball in the goal area before the goalie could kick it away.

Questions: Doesn't the goalie making a save make the ball a dead ball until s/he kicks it away?

Is the ball still alive and still playable by the attacking team if the goalie puts the ball down is setting up to kick it away (after a save)? What is considered a valid "release" to resume play?

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

1. Absolutely NO! 2.ABsolutely Yes. Not to pick at you but you should know this. If you don't, someone did a poor job of training you. Once the keeper lays the ball on the ground, he has released control and the ball may be challenged for. The opposing coach was correct in telling his players to challenge the ball. The only exception is some states have modified the Law ay U-8 and U-10 that allow the keeper to maintain control even if the ball is on the ground.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

If the keeper puts the ball on the floor it's there for all to play AND the keeper can't use his hands until another player touches it! If the keeper has the ball in his hands his opponents allow him to release it from his hands.

You state your level of play is "recreational adult". This might mean a bunch of guys running about and kicking the ball before sitting around having a beer to highly competitive players serious about what they're doing. Recreational leagues have been known to, really, screw around with the Laws so the number of lawsuits pending is manageable. To answer, correctly anyway, what a rec league does is nearly impossible from this vantage point. Perhaps asking the league secretary, scheduler or what-have-you will yield a more complete answer.

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15683
Read other Q & A regarding Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>