- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 15756Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 6/11/2007Gil Acedo of Pasadena, CA USA asks...This question is a follow up to question 15702 If I had to base a decision as to whether the GK was guilty of a foul or not and I had only Keith's description of event to go by, I would have to say no foul. Now the referee thought otherwise, but Keith says the keeper kicked the ball [and then?] the attacker, I would say it's unfortunate the player was injured but kudos to the GK for a good, aggressive but clean play on the ball. Many times I have heard spectators howl for a foul when one of their players was knocked down or injured in a confrontation, but the knock-down or injury itself is not always justification for a punishment.
The comment by the unsympathetic GK was out of line, and assuming he heard it, should have elicited a warning from the referee. Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol Gil are you that ref who perpetuates the "I got the ball" myth? The proverbial ref last week? No, I'm kidding, I know better from some of your other questions to the site.
Kicking an opponent, either before or after kicking the ball, is a foul. Any contact with the opponent before contacting the ball is a foul.
It is true that a skillful player could tackle the ball away and then the opponent might fall due to tripping over the outstretched leg. That isn't a foul.
The successful tackler could illegally "improve his lie", so to speak, by raising a leg off the ground or moving it around to make it easier for the opponent to trip. That is a foul.
As we answered Keith originally, we aren't in a position to second-guess whether any written description of a goalkeeper's action is a foul or not, or is misconduct or not. I can certainly conceive many scenarios that fit the description, ranging anywhere from no foul to SFP. The decision was made by the ref at that game, based on what he saw.
Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol
View Referee Gary Voshol profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15756
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|