Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 15758

Law 15 - Throw In 6/11/2007

RE: Competive Adult

Brian of Anchorage, AK USA asks...

Where can I find the rule that says (in order to prove to another Ref) that it "is" legal to throw the ball in to your own goal keeper and he is allowed to use his hands in order to catch the ball? I did this the other day and was called for an indirect hand ball by our keeper resulting in an indirect free kick on the 8 meter line.

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

Brian finding this in writing is impossible and it has been impossible since 1 Jul 1997. I hope you didn't bet too much cause it's gonna cost ya.

Here is what he quotes, from Law 12:

An indirect free kick is awarded to the opposing team if a goalkeeper,
inside his own penalty area, commits any of the following four offences: ...

... touches the ball with his hands after he has received it directly from a throw-in taken by a team-mate

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Jon [Withheld]

I hope you took this bet before the summer of 1997 because the law changed that a keeper can not touch the ball with his hands from a throw in. exactly the same as a deliberate pass to the goal keeper from a defender.

ed note: directly from throw-in



Read other questions answered by Referee Jon [Withheld]

View Referee Jon [Withheld] profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Brian. There's no such thing as an "indirect handball." A keeper may NOT handle a ball received DIRECTLY from a throw-in by a teammate. If he does, or as you did, this will result in an indirect free kick for the opponents at the spot of the handling subject to the Special Circumstances of law 8. Also, what is the 8 Meter Line? The Goal area line is 5.5 meters and the penalty area line is 16.5 meters



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Steve Montanino

My friend,

Never bet on something you think you know. Bet on facts. The facts are that a goalkeeper may not touch a throw-in with his hands if it has been thrown-in by a teammate. That just doesn't fly.

I hope you didn't bet the farm on it.



Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino

View Referee Steve Montanino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15758
Read other Q & A regarding Law 15 - Throw In

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>