- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 15766Law 14 - Penalty kick 6/12/2007RE: Rec Adult Doug of Toronto, Canada asks...I called a penalty. Keeper saves it, but he moved off the line before the ball was kicked. I order a retake. Different player takes the penalty. Again, the ball is saved, but the keeper moved from the line again. Again, I order a retake. Again, a different player takes the penalty. No infringeemnts occur and a goal is scored. After the penalty, the team which conceded the penalty argued that the same player has to take the retake and he knew that rule for a fact. Is this true? I looked in the law book, but found nothing. Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol There is no such provision in the Laws of the Game. I wouldn't doubt that sometime somewhere somebody promulgated such a rule for a local competition.
Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol
View Referee Gary Voshol profileAnswer provided by Referee Richard Dawson Hi Doug, this so called fact is a total myth my friend! You were Spot on! The team was speaking total bogwash. The Pk taker can be a different kicker as long as he is identified as the kicker before you signal each PK to begin. Sounds like you had the testicular fortitude to retake as required, the keeper should have gotten the message after the first retake or so you would think.
I find it unusual to see a rotation of three separate kickers occur but perfectly legal! Perhaps the coach thought it tactically prudent to have another player retake! It could be to put off the keeper or he felt each miss weighed on the kicker's mind! Cheers
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profileAnswer provided by Referee Steve Montanino You got it right, the team did not. See Ref Dawson's answer for more detail.
Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino
View Referee Steve Montanino profileAnswer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer Absolutely correct. You even could have cautioned the keeper the second time he infringed Law 14. The thing you can't do is prevent any one, properly identified, kicker from taking the penalty kick.
Well Done,
Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer
View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15766
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - Penalty kick
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|