Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 15773

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 6/13/2007

RE: Competitive Adult

Mark of Raleigh, NC USA asks...

I had a situation in my last game where the ball came into the box from a cross. My defender (I'm the goalie) tried to volley the ball over his shoulder and out and incidentally it hit his hand. It wasn't intentional, but a PK was awarded. I've never entirely been too clear on this handball/PK ruling. From FIFA Laws of the Game it states a PK is awarded if a player deliberately handles the ball in his own penalty area. If it was incidental, how could it be deliberate? Shouldn't this case have been an indirect kick at the spot of the foul? Unfortunately, as always, the ref was quick to award a PK -- which turned out to be the game decider. Such a shame, eh?

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Mark,
for the purposes of WHAT a player MEANS to do we use the words deliberate actions rather than wondering what he intended to do. Referees are not mind readers, although we can quess what a defender might be trying to do! We base our call of (handles the ball deliberately) on the players actions not his thoughts!

The ONLY restart in law for this offence is a DFK thus a PK if inside the player's own penalty area. NO INDFK is possible for a (handles the ball deliberately) by any player. The keeper has 4 violations where an illegally handled ball inside his area could result in INDKS but they are four seperate offences ONLY a keeper can be quilty of!
A referee who awards an INDFK in the situation you describe would FAIL any assessent as it is contrary to the laws of the game. He either sees it as a DFK offence where the player deliberately handled the ball or play should be allowed to continue !

Generally on a cross there is sufficent time for a defender to make a decision to play the ball, cover a defender or move out of the way. AS a deliberate playing action once a player has deliberately initiated contact to play the ball his motions are looked at in that light.

I grant you if I watched a player attempting to deliberately clear the ball with his foot and mis hit the ball into his hand I might not see it as a deliberate action depending on how the arms were used. If the arm was trying to be pulled back or the arm was in a natural position for balance and the speed of play too fast to react likely no foul!
If the arm was placed out to say deliberately shield an opponent off the ball or was moved into and towards the ball perhaps a foul .

It does not matter as conjecture, the referee of your match was of the opinion it was a foul, thus as a match condition it is ! One can only hope he would base all his calls on that same premise for that match to be equal in his application. If in hindsight he came to realize he was in error then we could have hope for his continued improvement in foul recognition in future matches.
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Debbie Hoelscher

Mark, besides concurring with my esteemed colleague, Ref Dawson, regarding the decision the referee made to penalize what in his/her opinion was deliberately handling the ball, I would also add that your suggestion that an IFK should have been the restart because it was "incidental" is totally in error. There is either deliberately handling the ball or nothing at all. It is a penal foul and is always restarted with a direct free kick when outside the penalty area of the team that committed the foul. Or it is a penalty kick if it occurs inside that team's own penalty area.



Read other questions answered by Referee Debbie Hoelscher

View Referee Debbie Hoelscher profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Mark, how could this ever end up as an indirect free kick? If indeed it was a foul, deliberately handling the ball, the ONLY possible restart in this instance is a PK. If the action was NOT deliberate, nothing should have been called and play should have continued.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15773
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>