- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 15775Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 6/13/2007RE: High School Adult Douglas Jackson of Minot , ND USA asks...Team B keeper makes a save against team A. The keeper bounces the ball and kicks the ball down the field in doing so the keeper steps over the the goal area line parallel to the goal line. Is the infraction because of the ball crossing the goal line or the keeper stepping over the goal line? Is the penalty for this infraction an IDFK? Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson HI Douglas, I am a bit confused here? The PENALTY area is the 18 yard area! The keeper is permitted the use of his hands within ALL of this area The goal area is the 6 yard area in front of the goal WITHIN the penalty area. The goal line is the line extending across the field from corner to corner through the posts and under the crossbar.
A keeper's feet or body play no part in determining if the ball is inside or outside a boundary line ONLY the ball is considered. If the ball is carried COMPLETELY outside the penalty area boundary lines into the field it is a DFK for (Handles the ball deliberately) and the restart occurs just outside the edge of the penalty area. It must be noted that we often consider this event as a doubtful or trifling offence and either ignore it or warn before any punitive action is taken
If the keeper carried the ball COMPLETELY over the goal line it is a corner kick for the opposition. If the keeper carried the ball COMPLETELY under the cross bar and between the posts over the goal line it is a goal for the opposition and a kick off restart for his team.
A keeper has 4 restrictions where he is NOT permitted to handle the ball inside his own area which are INDFKs from the point of those infractions. Those are the only cases for an INDFK for illegal use of hands!
A keeper can NEVER EVER be quilty of a PK for deliberately handles the ball!
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profileAnswer provided by Referee Ben Mueller No. The keeper can handle the ball anywhere in the penalty area (larger region). Also, it is not the feet that matter, but it is where the ball is that matters. Thus if the keeper carries the ball outside of the penalty area such that the whole ball is over the entire line, then it would be a dfk for opponents at spot of infraction.
Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller
View Referee Ben Mueller profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15775
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|