- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 15776Law 11 - Offside 6/13/2007RE: Competitive Under 17 Steve Brannan of Duluth, MN USA asks...Hello once again!
I have a question about interpretation of Law 11. In a game this past weekend, an attacker passed the ball to a teammate who was in an offside position when the ball was played. However, as the ball was going towards the attacker who was in an offside position, a defender attempted to play the ball forward but, in my opinion, misplayed it so that it went to the attacker in an offside position. The assistant referee correctly put her flag up since I assumed she did not see the misplay by the defender. I waved her down and let play continue, and a goal was soon scored. After consulting with her briefly, I allowed the goal to stand, since I remembered in the recertification clinic I attended that a misplayed ball is not the same as a deflection. Is this the correct interpretation of Law 11? If this is the correct interpretation, then I have a follow up question. In order to be consistent with interpretation and application of the Laws of the Game, would it be correct to say that a goalkeeper should be penalized for receiving a "pass back" if the defender only misplays it? The law says, "touches the ball with his hands after it has been deliberately kicked to him by a team-mate." However, if a defender needs to play the ball in order to negate an offside infringement, and a misplay is considered deliberately playing the ball, then it seems that a goalkeeper should not be allowed to touch the ball with his or her hands after it has been misplayed by a teammate. Thank you for taking the time to read this, and thank you in advance for any feedback you are able to give. Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer From the time a player is in an offside position and his team mate touches the ball he is prohibited from getting involved until the other team establishes control, the ball is no longer in play or he regains a position that is not offside AND, by then the ball is touched by a team mate.
That should settle the offside thing. AND the International FA Board said this in 1974 when they changed one diagram [a deflection from a defender] from Not Offside to Offside. Basically the player did PLAY the ball, but established no control, it deflected from him. Because it was not his intent to kick the ball as he did, his goalkeeper may handle it.
Regards,
Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer
View Referee Chuck Fleischer profileAnswer provided by Referee Richard Dawson Hi Steve, I worry a bit on the misplayed thing? Was the ball controlled and clear possession of the ball established? I tend to think an attempt to play is not a controlled possession unless the player was under no pressure and the ball was dead still at the first touch. I use my foot to stop a rolling ball then try to kick it away only to miss-kick it to an opponent who was offside positioned more likely resets offside than a simple swipe at the ball.
It is hard not to imagine the misplay as gaining an advantage by the offside positioned players but your match, your decision, your reputation! Think control and possession rather than a random arc of the ball. The law wants us to punish deliberate breeches of the law not doubtful or trivial.
A MISTAKE should not be rewarded but a misplay is often a deflection due to lack of control!
A defender deliberately kicks the ball in the direction of his keeper but a speeding attacker runs onto it as it was weakly kicked forcing the keeper to use his hands to bat it away. That was a mistake and the keeper although he saved the shot by using his hands he is guilty of that infringement because of the mistake by his teammate
Now if the defender tried to kick the ball in a clearance and instead it arced sideways with back spin off his foot that was a misplay and it is not controlled and the keeper bats that ball away from the onrushing attacker a good save play on! Cheers
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15776
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|