- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 15808Law 14 - Penalty kick 6/15/2007RE: Competitive Under 19 Rick Czechowski of San Diego, CA USA asks...I saw this happen in a recent CONCACAF Gold Cup match betwee USA and El Salvador. Landon Donovan (USA)had been awarded a PK. He took the initial shot, it was saved by the Salvadoran goalkeeper but Donovan followed up his shot and shot in the rebounded ball. So far, so good, except the referee said that another USA player had infringed into the penalty area, the goal was disallowed. Again, so far so good, BUT the referee then had USA retake the PK. My understanding of Law 14 is that if the shooting team infringes and the shot does not go in, an IFK should have been awarded to the defensive team (El Salavador, in this case) at the spot of the infringement. Was the ref wrong here, or was he within his rights to let the play continue and allow Donovan to try to score on his follow-up, thus forcing a retake (which Donovan subsquently made) rather than an IFK? Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson It is but an opinion however I surmised that the El Salvadorian keeper came off his line as well as the USA encroachment. As such a retake woud be correct in law whether a miss or a goal scored. It is likely the referee consulted with his AR who perhaps added to the overall knowledge of the event? YOU are correct if there was ONLY USA encroachment no retake INDFK out would be correct! Cheers
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profileAnswer provided by Referee Keith Contarino Your understanding is correct. If just a teammate of Donovan had infringed, the restart should have been an IFK for El Salvador. I did not see this and what ref Dawson surmises makes sense. I doubt a referee at this level would make such a mistake.
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profileAnswer provided by Referee Steve Montanino I saw the play in question. While the timing of the whole thing looked strange, I have to assume the referee decided that both teams infringed law 14 prior to the kick being taken. This resulted in the rekick.
I will not repeat the reasoning given by the commentators, because it was purely rubbish. However, that goes to show you - most commentator's don't know much about the laws of the game. That's why we are here to correct the myths perpetuated by the men with the voices heard all around this country.
Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino
View Referee Steve Montanino profileAnswer provided by Referee Ben Mueller You are correct. My guess is that there was something else that you missed that happend in the game. Perhaps the keeper left the line early or both teams infringed as Referee Dawson states.
Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller
View Referee Ben Mueller profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15808
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - Penalty kick
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|