Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 15810

Law 11 - Offside 6/16/2007

RE: Competitive Adult

Jim of Portland, OR USA asks...

Law 11 - Offside

Attacker A1 throws-in ball to A2, who is in an offside position near the goal line. A2 makes a cutback cross to A3 in the area who then scores.
Is A2 be in an unlawful offside position? According to the definitions here it doesn't seems so.

Thanks!

Answer provided by Referee Debbie Hoelscher

Law 15: You cannot be judged offside when you receive the ball directly from a thrown in.



Read other questions answered by Referee Debbie Hoelscher

View Referee Debbie Hoelscher profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Jim,
the offside decision is not in effect on the initial ball into play on the throw in (Same for a corner kick and a goal kick) The initial offside phase (determining offside position) comes into play only when the team mate RECIEVES the ball put into play from the restart.

In your case was A3 farther away from the opposing goal line than the ball when A2 last touched the ball. Now once A3 contacts the ball offside considerations begin to appear as A2 could be offside positioned and on the A3 shot, A2 could be guilty of interfering with an opponent i.e. blocks the keeper's line of sight)

Just remember these important facts
-on the three exempt restarts there are no offside considerations until AFTER a TEAM MATE touches the ball AFTER that ball was kicked or thrown into play!
-It is never an offence just to be offside positioned in of itself!!
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

The only question should be where A3 was when A2 passed the ball to him because it is impossible for A2 to be offside since he received the ball directly from a throw-in



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15810
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>