Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 15874

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 6/23/2007

RE: competitive

Angel Gonzalez of SUISUN CITY, CA USA asks...

The goalkeeper kicks the ball from outside the penalty area into the penalty area and picks it up and punts the ball. Was an infraction committed? If so, what is the restart?

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

The goalkeeper can always handle the ball within her own penalty area, subject to the constraints of the goalkeeper offences mentioned in Law i2. If she gets the ball any other way she may handle it for six seconds. If kicked to her by a team mate, thrown it directly to by a team mate or she has released it from her hands into play and it hasn't touched another player she may not handle it.

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Angel,
there is no law broken, no infringment or foul for such an action!

The keeper is allowed the use of his hands on the ball inside his own penalty area and is entitled to kick the ball outside or inside same as any other player.

What COULD make the use of his HANDS on the ball illegal is if the ball he kicked outside his PA was in fact a ball that was deliberately kicked to him by a team mate in the first place. Or if the ball had been in his possession and released or if he had recieved that ball directly from a throw in!

Kicking a ball into his own penalty area would be ok until he reached down to use his hands then because he is not permitted to use his hands on a ball that was kicked to him deliberately by the foot of a team mate there is an INDFK awarded from that pick up point subject to law 8 special circumstances within the goal area!
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15874
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>