Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 15878

Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play 6/25/2007

RE: Rec Adult

Les Sicherman of Saskatoon, Saskatchewan Canada asks...

If the ball srikes an AR who had wandered inside the playing area, is he treated the same as if the ball glances off the referee?

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

Yes. While the ref and the AR's try to stay out of the way of the players and the ball, sometimes it's unavoidable that one will be hit. When it happens, it's just the same as if the ball had bounced off a goal, a flagpost, a tuft of grass or a clod of dirt. Maybe that's why all too often out name is mud ...



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

Law 9 - The Ball in and Out of Play makes the following statement:


The ball is in play at all other times, including when:

it rebounds from a goalpost, crossbar or corner flagpost and
remains in the field of play

it rebounds bounds from either the referee or an assistant referee when they are on the field of play

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Les,
As my colleagues point out YES!
he gets ribbed every bit a much as a referee if not more for getting in the way! That is also why for good game control the touchlines must be kept free of spectator and team encroachment so not to force the AR into or too near the pitch! Cheers!



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Nathan Lacy

Love your phrasing - wandered. That sounds just about right because he never should have been there in the first place!! Regardless, to beat the dead horse a bit more, yes, the situation would be the same as if it hit the referee. All the best,



Read other questions answered by Referee Nathan Lacy

View Referee Nathan Lacy profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15878
Read other Q & A regarding Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>