Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 15882

Law 14 - Penalty kick 6/25/2007

RE: Competitve Adult

Andre Pacheco of Cambridge, Ontario Canada asks...

We had a penalty shot called for us, during regulation time. When the shot was take, it hit the post and came back out to the player who took it, he then scored on the rebound however the ref called it offside. How is this correct it makes no sense to me?

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Andre,
well you can count me in that group where it makes no sense because that is what the call was nonsense. Well sort of, the restart remains the same as an INDFK out! Did the referee actually say offside or simply raise his arm indicating an INDFK?
The CORRECT call is a second touch violation of law 14 where the pk kicker can not touch or play the ball until it touches another player.
So if the referee said offside he is mistaken even if an iNDFK out for a second touch is still the same result!
AT least he correctly denied the goal!
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

The referee was accidently correct on the restart, but it was for a 2nd touch NOT offside.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

Did the ref say, "Offside"? Or did he blow his whistle with his hand raised in the air? That is the signal for an indirect free kick. We may see it most often on offside calls, but it is generic for any IFK for any reason.

As my colleagues have noted, the offense was touching the ball a second time, before any other player had touched it. Even though it may sometimes be the keeper's best friend, the goalpost is not a player.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Jon Sommer

I doubt very much that the referee called offside. I think he blew his whistle and raised his hand above his head which you would associate with offside. It is infact the signal for an Indriect freekick.This was given because the PK taker touched the ball a second time from a restart before anyone else had.



Read other questions answered by Referee Jon Sommer

View Referee Jon Sommer profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15882
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - Penalty kick

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>