Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 15887

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 6/26/2007

RE: amateur Adult

Mike of glasgow, U.K asks...

Can a goal keeper handle the ball from a pass back from a throw-in??

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

He probably can, it depends on how nimble he is. But if he does, the referee will blow his whistle and award an indirect free kick to the opponents (or a direct free kick, if the ball is outside the penalty area). It's up to the keeper whether he wants that free kick against him or not.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

No he cannot. At least not without having a foul called on him. IFK at point of infraction. If spot was in goal area, IFK is taken from point on top of goal area closest to where infraction occurred.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Answer provided by Referee Steve Montanino

If he does and that kick or throw came from a teammate then his team would be sanctioned with an IFK to the other team. If it comes from the opponents then it's all good.



Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino

View Referee Steve Montanino profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

A throw-in is not a pass back. A passback is not a word found anywhere in the Laws Of The Game. A goalkeeper may not legally handle the ball if it's received directly from a throw-in by a teammate or if the ball has been deliberately kicked to him or to an area he may gather the ball by a teammate.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

A player can do as he pleases. The smart player knows he may not handle a ball received directly from a team mate's throw-in.

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15887
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>