Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 15916

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 6/30/2007

RE: Youth High School

Pochi of Sydney, NSW Australia asks...

I was wondering when a defending team throws the ball back to their goal keeper, would be an offence? It would be legal if an opponent threw the ball to their oppenents keeper wouldn' it?...

Also, the law says that a goal cannot be scored directly from a throw in, but would it be different if a defending team accidently threw the ball back to their keeper, and went in the goal?
Only because i'v seen such case on a random soccer game on TV...

Any help would be great,
Thanks!

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

There is no offence on a throw in for a team mate to go directly to a team's own keeper.

The only restriction is the keeper CAN NOT use his hands. If he uses his hands to pick up the ball inside his own penalty area it is an INDFK offence.

If the throw in is directly to the opposing keeper that keeper is under NO restrictions and could use his hands as the keeper.

If the ball enters the goal DIRECTLY by way of the throw in meaning the ball does not touch any other player on its way into the goal!

If a player was to throw the ball directly into his own goal it is a corner kick for the opponents.

If you throw the ball directly into the opponent's goal it is a goal kick for opponents .
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

It only is an issue if the keeper touches it with hands after it has been thrown to him. The keeper can still play the ball like a normal player. If the defending team throws it into their own goal w/o a touch, the restart is now a corner kick. If the ball touched the keeper in anyway on the way into the goal...then it is a goal.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

It's NOT an offence to throw the ball to one's own keeper. the offence is if the keeper then deliberately handles the ball. If he does this, an indirect free kick is awarded the opponents. A goal may not be scored directly from a throw-in regardless of which goal it's thrown into. Must first touch another player



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

It's NOT an offence to throw the ball to one's own keeper. the offence is if the keeper then deliberately handles the ball. If he does this, an indirect free kick is awarded the opponents. A goal may not be scored directly from a throw-in regardless of which goal it's thrown into. Must first touch another player



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15916
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>