- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 15940Law 11 - Offside 7/4/2007RE: Under 15 Kyle Kenney of Ontario, Canada asks...Another offside question..
I drew an illustration for my question: http://img116.imageshack.us/img116/7121/balluv6.png
If the attacker (Red) passes the ball to another attacker (Player A) who's in an offside position.. but the ball gets intercepted by the Defender (Player B), then Player A goes to play the ball. Is it an offside? Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer Without looking at your diagram I only ask this one question: is he or is he not interfering with that opponent? The answer to that one question determines if an offside offence has been committed.
Regards,
Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer
View Referee Chuck Fleischer profileAnswer provided by Referee Richard Dawson Hi Kyle, offside positioned player A does what??? BEFORE The ball is controlled and possessed by defender B? Offside is not judged upon what the opponent B does but by what the offside player A does! If offside player A simply stands and waits, then AFTER defender B intercepts the ball and gains control and possession player A is permitted to rejoin active play! If player A decides to rejoin active play through trying to close down defender B limiting B's opportunity to control anfd possess the ball without hassel, A's proximity and forward movement is likely grounds for inteference or gaining an advantage. Cheers
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15940
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|