- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 15951Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 7/5/2007RE: rec Under 11 Alex Belanger of Pierrefonds, Quebec Canada asks...Is a pass back a penalty kick or a direct free kick Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino First, the term "passback" is not found anywhere in the Laws of the Game nor in any official document. If a teammate of the keeper deliberately kicks the ball to his keeper inside his own penalty area or to an area where the keeper may collect the ball, the keeper is not allowed to handle the ball. If he does, the restart is an indirect free kick from the point of the handling unless it taked place inside the goal area wherein the restart would be from the 6 yard line. No keeper handling violation can every result in a penalty kick.
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profileAnswer provided by Referee Ben Mueller Neither. It is an IFK if keeper touches ball with hands at the spot.
Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller
View Referee Ben Mueller profileAnswer provided by Referee Jon Sommer Passback isn't a term we use or promote because it is misleading. It is deliberately kicks the ball because the ball can be passed forward and the goalkeeper still is not permitted to pick the ball up. It is, however, neither, because we would award an Indirect freekick from the point of the infraction.
Read other questions answered by Referee Jon Sommer
View Referee Jon Sommer profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15951
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|