Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 15960

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 7/7/2007

RE: Rec Under 12

Adam Guest of London, UK asks...

If a striker hits the ball at a goalkeeper who bends over and stops the ball with one hand instead of two and another striker then kicks the ball out of the goalkeeper's is the goal allowed? Thank you for any opinions.

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Adam,
if the referee can recognize the ball is in solid contact with the hand that ball is in possession of the keeper and can not be challanged. Sometimes the ball will bobble or the hand is not in solid contact and such a ball may be challanged. No ball can be kicked out of a keeper's hand control even if but a finger is in contact with the ball. If the keeper's hand was on top of the ball pinning it to the ground and a striker kicked the ball out from under the hand. It is a DFK out, no goal, possible caution or even a remote send off to the attacker. There are times when the foot and hand arrive at the same time making it difficult to decide but if it is clear the keeper has possession with any part of the hand or arm (this means contact with the ball) the opponents are not to challange!
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

One hand is all that is needed for the keeper to be in possession of the ball. If the ball is not in control, then it is not considered to be in the keepers possession. If the attacker kicked the keeper carelesslely, recklessly, or with excessive force, then the restart is a dfk for the keepers team. If the attacker prevented the keeper from releasing the ball with his hands, then the restart is a IFK.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

If you pose this question often enough sooner or later you'll hear the famous "all it takes is one finger to establish control". If the keeper has possession with one hand, the opponents may not challenge for the ball. If an opponent kicks the ball, at the least no goal, DFK to keeper's team



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15960
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>