Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 15961

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 7/7/2007

RE: Silver U-12 and U-13 Under 14

Thomas of Chilliwack, British Columbia Canada asks...

I have two questions, both of which occured in the Distict Cup (which takes teams to the Provincial Championships). Both incidents also occured against the same team, just different years.

1)This first question occured in the OVERTIME of the FINALS of the cup during my U-12 year. Team Red misplaces a long ball upfield and it lands well inside Team Blue's Penalty Area, where the Blue GK(me) comes out to collect it . Meanwhile, two Red attackers, R1 and R2, run after the cross in a futile attempt to get it before I do. They end up about 12 yards away from me when I catch the ball. Not even attempting to slow down, R1 runs at fulll speed straight into me, with R2 comming up behind who trips over the me. I had a head and back injury and was down for a couple minutes(though I was able to play on), and R1 and R2 appeard to be in a smalll amount of pain (serves them right:P). What should the referee have done?

2)This question occured during the later parts of the second half of the cup with Red leading 1-0; but Blue was dominatiing the second half, already with a disallowed goal (just) and all the chances. In Red's half, B1 comes in and with a clean sliding tackle from the side, wins the ball from R1, who falls down. B1 passes the ball up and now the Blue team is on a great scoring chance with 5 players attaking to 3 defenders and the ball almost at Red's Penalty Area. The referee looks back at R1, who appears to be in great pain, and rightly, stops play. AS SOON AS THE WHISTLE HAD GONE (the ref had looked away to signal to the coach) R1 jumps up and runs off to get the ball. And to cap it all off, the referee shows no card to R1, and awards a IDFK to the RED team. What should the referee have done instead?

Also, thanks for a great site, it's so interesting and useful for me as a player, and as a referee.

~Thomas

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Tohmas,
each referee is a MATCH condition much like the weather or pitch surface be it rain or sun smooth or bumpy it is what you must adapt to each match.

If your 1st scenario was as you say, the collision from 12 yards away AFTER you had ball possesses ion is a mystery to me why a charging foul and a possible caution for reckless or possible send off for excessive unnecessary and avoidable contact was not considered. A keeper in possession of a ball the opponents must cease all challenges and try to avoid contact 12 yards ins a long way off to not avoided the collision.
Once all players are injured then to stop play award a drop ball is the only option if there was no perceived foul.

Your second situation has several points that defy reasoning. If play was halted due to the injury the restart must in law be a drop ball.
If the red player injured suddenly recovered to jump up and run after the ball right after I stopped play a likely caution for simulation and an indfk for blue. If the referee thought the red player was fouled then a DFK for the trip and a much quicker whistle. An indfk for red makes no sense based on YOUR telling of this situation. I have no way to judge what the referee saw or thought he saw to do as he did. My suggestions do not waste those chances to bury the ball in the net as many times as you can so an occasional fluff up in officiating will not worry you at all!
Cheers





Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

1. If the keeper has control, then there should be no challenge. Most likely these attackers deserved a caution or at least the attacker that tripped you. At bare minimum you should have been awarded a free kick. These seems like reckless behavior to me. 2. The referee should not have done a IFK, but instead a drop ball. The referee cannot change a restart once it has been established. Cards for misconduct can still be issued. Referees are to stop play if they believe a player is seriously injured.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15961
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>