Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 15965

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 7/7/2007

RE: Rec Under 9

Russ of Windsor, ON CA asks...

If a goalie is holding the ball and he and the ball leave the penalty area completely, must an DFK be given, or can an IDFK be given.

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Russ,
if a keeper is holding the ball in his hands and he carries the ball completely outside his penalty area it is a DFK for deliberate handling IF the call is made at all. It offers up a scoring opportunity over a minor indiscretion. We could warn a keeper to be careful as we often see a keeper release as in a punt out as trivial or doubtful in the need to call it but usually only if flagrant or ongoing is there a need to think it must be called.

I want to differentiate between the keeper mistakenly close to a boundary in a punt out and reaching outside his area in handling the ball. Although both are deliberate handling offences the carry out release has far less impact then a defensive foul to stop a scoring attack.

If a keeper is deliberate handling the ball outside his penalty area the deliberate handling is always and only a DFK foul. If a keeper was guilty of illegal handing inside his own penalty area it can only be an INDFK but NEVER a PK!
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

Nope must be a dfk. This is the same as any other handling the ball deliberatly. Keeper is only entitled this in his own penatly area.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Hi Russ. If the keeper handles the ball deliberately outside his penalty area the only possible restart would be a direct free kick if the referee stops play for this. However, most referees will allow the keeper to go a little over the line as it's a trifling offense especially at the younger age and skill levels.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15965
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>