- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 15968Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 7/7/2007RE: Competitive Under 17 Bryan of Naperville, IL usa asks...If a ball is played over the top into the box by the opposing team can the goalie use his or her hands to trap it(without catching it) play the ball with your feet then pick it up when put under pressure, i saw this happen in a chicago fire game and i was wondering if this was legal. Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol If the goalkeeper parries the ball, she can no longer play it with her hands until it is touched by another player (of either team). Parrying is when the keeper has the ability to hold onto the ball, but chooses to bat it down to the ground instead. It is different than a save, where the keeper can only manage to block the ball away from the net without establishing any control. It is in the opinion of the referee as to whether the ball could have been controlled or not.
Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol
View Referee Gary Voshol profileAnswer provided by Referee Richard Dawson Hi Bryan, If in the opinion of the referee the parry has a hand touch, controlled possession and release back into active play at one single touch of the ball then the keeper can not reuse the hands to pick the ball up. It is rare because the 6 second law revision took out the need to worry about positioning the ball when 4 steps was in place. In the game if the referee allowed the keeper to pick the ball up then he did not consider the block as a parry but as a knock down. As an opinion of a fact of play it is uncontestable even if you might have disagreed. Cheers
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profileAnswer provided by Referee Keith Contarino Hey Bryan. If the referee feels the trapping with his hands amounted to control and possession, once the keeper releases the ball from this trap he may not handle the ball again until it touches another player. From your description, this soulnd like control to me. My fellow referees describe what a parry is. Unfortunately, many keepers believe the parry does NOT constitute control and many referees refuse to call it.
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15968
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|