Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 15970

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 7/7/2007

RE: Club Under 15

Jake of sydney, nsw Australia asks...

Just wondering whether it would be a foul if the ball is on the ground and the keeper has one hand on top of it and a player is to kick it into the goal.

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

I'd have to be there to see it for sure, but from what you write, it sounds like it would be a foul. When the goalkeeper has control of the ball, an opponent cannot attempt to play it. Control is defined as the keeper touching the ball with any part of his hand/arm, as little as one finger, and trapping it against something else. In the situation you present, the ball would have been trapped between the hand and the ground.

If the ref sees this as "attempting to kick" she will award a direct free kick; if she sees it as "preventing the goalkeeper from releasing the ball" the restart will be indirect. Happening way down inside the penalty area, whichever offense is chosen doesn't make much of a difference.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Jake ,
recognizable contact between the arm of a keeper (includes the hand and as my colleague points out a single finger) and the ball is defined as controlled possession and as such the keeper cannot be challenged.

He has in fact aprox 6 seconds of freedoom before he is forced to relinquish hand control of the ball .

If an opponent tries to interrupt this 6 seconds to play the ball, it is at minimum an indfk for interupting the release or possibly a dfk offence like kicking or attempt to kick with possible caution or even a send off depending on how it is percieved by the referee.

There will be close decisions where ball, hand and foot will arrive all at once and ITOOTR will have to prevail. If the ball bobbles even slightly and there is no clear contact point linking arm to ball, the ball is free to be challanged.
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15970
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 15979

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>