- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 15972Law 15 - Throw In 7/8/2007RE: rec Adult danny damico of niceville , florida usa asks...can a player throw the ball in off of an opposing team player's back on purpose and continue to play the ball. Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol Yes, as long as the throw was not reckless or made with excessive force. This is specifically noted in the new Additional Instructions section of the 2007-2008 Laws of the Game, which can be found on FIFA's website. Since this is a brand new document, just coming into effect as of July 1, you may have to search around a bit on the site to find it. Sooner or later FIFA will get around to making it the default document when the "Laws of the Game" link is clicked.
Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol
View Referee Gary Voshol profileAnswer provided by Referee Richard Dawson Hi Danny, Tactically it was viewed as an attempt to avert a second touch or win a corner from a close throw in to the corner. It was argued as USB by many. FIFA have now stated, in black and white, YES but added reckless or excessive as an opinion by the referee. It might make a few people unhappy but what one might consider reckless another referee might not so be careful if you actually attempt it! Cheers
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profileAnswer provided by Referee Ben Mueller Yes as long as it is reckless or with excessive force.
Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller
View Referee Ben Mueller profileAnswer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer The pertinent paragraph from the Additional Instructions and Guidelines for Referees in the 2007-8 Laws is:
If a player player, while correctly taking a throw-in, intentionally throws the ball at an opponent in order to play the ball a second time but neither in a careless nor a reckless manner nor using excessive force, the referee shall allow play to continue.
Regards,
Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer
View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15972
Read other Q & A regarding Law 15 - Throw In
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|