- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 15973Law 11 - Offside 7/8/2007RE: College pete piscopo of Medford, nj usa asks...The ball is kicked from outside the 18.
It hits the horizontal cross bar of the goal.
Is offsides in play if the ball is advanced to the cross bar then played back to one of my forwards?
Is my forward considered offside if he is in an offside position when the ball is kicked?
Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer Here's the deal on offside at the taking of a free kick in the opponent's half, except on a corner kick, anyone closer the goal line and the last but one opponent or the last two opponents [in an offside position] may not interfere with play or interfere with an opponent or gain advantage. If, when you write played back, you mean the ball deflects from the crossbar an offside player may not participate. If you mean the ball deflects from the crossbar to an opponent and deflects to your offside player he may not get involved.
Regards,
Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer
View Referee Chuck Fleischer profileAnswer provided by Referee Richard Dawson Hi Pete, the ball rebounding off a post ora ball deflecting off an opponent does not reset offside for your team. If you had offside positioned forward players at the time that your kick from outside the 18 occurs then they remain unable to participate in active play.
If there were onside players they could chase down the ball and while they might appear offside positioned when they get to the ball it does not matter because that is not where they were when your team last touched the ball. Cheers
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15973
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|