Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 15986

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 7/9/2007

RE: Comp Under 17

Mark of Sacramento, CA USA asks...

In ATR 2006 12.8 it is made clear that a "fair" tackle begins with contact with the ball. 12.8 also makes it clear that a shoulder to shoulder charge from defender to attacker is foul play if it begins with shoulder contact. I contend that if a defender catches up with an attacker and moves them off the ball with their shoulder without play first playing the ball it is a foul. I understand some minor contact is overlooked as trifling. I saw players driven off the ball repeatedly in the recent US Club Regionals with out the ball every being played by a defender. What is the standard and how does it vary.

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

In the US Soccer publication Advice to Referees on the Laws of the Game [ATR] 12.8 discusses the foul play tackles an opponent to gain possession of the ball, making contact with the opponent before touching the ball. 12.8, in no place, mentions contact that is shoulder to shoulder. This paragraph has been reviewed and found correct by reviewing referee instructor/assessors and will appear as written in 2006 in the 2007 edition of ATR.

Your contention that using one's shoulder to create space before playing the ball is foul play is without basis in Law. ATR paragraph 12.5 is the relevant policy statement and will read in ATR 2007:

The act of charging an opponent can be performed without it being called as a foul. Although the fair charge is commonly defined as "shoulder to shoulder," this is not a requirement and, at certain age levels where heights may vary greatly, may not even be possible. Furthermore, under many circumstances, a charge may often result in the player against whom it is placed falling to the ground (a consequence, as before, of players differing in weight or strength). The Law does require that the charge be directed toward the area of the shoulder and not toward the center of the opponent's back (the spinal area): in such a case, the referee should recognize that such a charge is at minimum reckless and potentially even violent. (See also Advice 12.14.)

It is not a violation of Law 12 for two players to charge the same opponent simultaneously, provided that each charge considered individually is conducted fairly and legally.

This should have been discussed in the annual re-certification clinic referees are required by USSF, though not District 6 of Cal North, to attend.

Regards,




Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Mark,
sorry mate got to disagree, if that is what you think you are in my opinion incorrect!

A tackle to win the ball must at least contact the ball to NOT automatically qualify as a dfk foul where the fact if physical person to person contact does occur it is in of itself not allowed. As you correctly noted there is some degree of tolerance and acceptance to limited contact as doubtful or trivial in nature IF the referee and players manage to work out exactly what that will be in that match!

A direct free kick is also awarded to the opposing team if a player
commits the following offence:
? tackles an opponent to gain possession of the ball, making contact
with the opponent before touching the ball

The purpose here is not to be able to go through a player to get to the ball! It is a blanket statement but not a totally wet one. Shoulder to shoulder is not a tackle for the ball but a legal challenge to push an opponent off the ball PROVIDED the ball is within playing distance. In effect we are not actually trying to go DIRECTLY to the ball we are competing physically with an opponent for the chance to play the ball!

Most tackles per say are slide tackles where players will try and poke a ball free while on the ground or reaching in with outstretched legs. We are in fact trying to directly access the ball

This fair tackle concept refers to such fouls as trip or attempt to trip, kick or attempt to kick where illegal contact can still occur even after the ball is first touched. We look at whether the opponent is disposed in an acceptable manner and if he falls over or into the defender or is actually brought down unfairly.
"Ref I got the ball!" is never a defense against a foul even if contact must occur with the ball to have any chance of no foul!

It is legal to bump an opponent using your shoulder IF that ball is within playing distance between you and your opponent! You do NOT have to first touch the ball! This is in fact the only true contact allowed in the game that is not a foul nor trivial or doubtful in its application.

A Charge COULD BE an unacceptable shoulder to shoulder contact at high speed and at intersecting angles just as if it was shoulder to chest or shoulder to back. You look at what the player is attempting to do and HOW it is being done. You do not look to find fault you only look to see if is unsafe or unfair.

Whether you understand the difference between a fair shoulder challenge and a lean over top or a jump up or a free arm wrap or a slingshot hold, it is important to know each referee is a match condition and as such we adapt to the calls as you would to rain or sun, smooth artificial turf or muddy ground. The standard of FAIR versus FOUL is only gained through experience be it your own or at the expense of others who first suffer your learning curve.

Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15986
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>