Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 15993

Law 14 - Penalty kick 7/11/2007

RE: Competitive Under 15

Tony Placido of Richmond Hill, Canada asks...

When a penalty kick is taken providing that all players are behind the penalty area and the procedure is done properly, can one of the players on the offensive team be allowed to pick up a rebound off the post or deflection from goalie?

The above scenerio occurs during 90 minute regulation time.

Does the above scenerio apply during penalty kicks after regulation time? 5 penalty kicks from both teams to determine a winner

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

On a penalty kick during the course of play, the ball is in play when it is kicked and moves forward. Once that happens, anyone can play the ball. If there was an infraction of Law 14, play is stopped and the restart is as defined in Law.

If time has been extended at the end of a period to allow a penalty kick to be taken, or during Kicks From the Penalty Mark to determine a winner, there will be no rebounds. The kicker gets to touch the ball once, the keeper as much as it takes to attempt to stop a goal. No one else may play the ball, no matter where it bounces.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Ref Voshall has this one nailed down with his answer



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

You bet! The kicker cannot touch the ball twice in a row. If he does, IFK at spot of second touching.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15993
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - Penalty kick

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>