Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 15995

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 7/11/2007

RE: Under 19

Greg of Sudbury, Canada asks...

Dear AskTheRef,

I was watching a U18 rep game the other night and in the second half with a only a few minutes left, the goalie stops a shot and runs to one side of the box, then runs to the other side and kicks the ball about 10 yards down the field, but out of bounds.

After seeing that the goalie has kicked the ball with all his might out of bounds, I'm guessing the ref found that he was doing that to delay the restart of the game. So the ref, gave him a yellow card, and the opposing team had the throw-in from the point of departure.

I am not TOO familiar with the rules of soccer so my question is, wouldn't that be a penalty kick or atleast a free kick since the goalie was shown a yellow?

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

If the referee felt the keeper took more than 6 seconds to release ball, then he should have blown the whistle and awarded an IFK to the opponents from where the keeper was standing at time 6 seconds was up. If he restarted with a throw in, then the referee could not have been calling the delay of the game.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

The ref may have cautioned the goalkeeper for Unsporting Behavior for kicking the ball way out of bounds, causing time to be wasted. The problem with that is, how far is too far, when does it become unsporting/timewasting rather than just kicking the ball out? Much better to simply tell the goalkeeper that wasn't needed, you are adding time to compensate for the long stoppage, and then be generous in estimating how much time is lost.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Greg ,
we can not award PKs based on unsporting gestures only a penal foul occuring inside the culprits own penalty area allows us that right.

Games played under FIFA laws require we can make up for lost or wasted time as LAW 7 gives us that discrestion.

Tactically kicking a ball is a player's decision not the referee's.

If I see a keeper do something so obtuse I might simply tell him I am adding time while you go and fetch it.

We could enforce the 6 seconds of handling possession to the letter if the keeper was being prissy then award an INDFK from where he is inside his area if he went over.

If the ball is kicked AFTER play is stopped them misconduct for delaying the restart or USB can easily be cautioned and shown a yellow card.

I have deep reservations about doing so (cautioning) if this kick was done during active play. I think we are over stepping our discrestionary powers here to tactically dictate kicking a ball out of play is only allowed at less than full strength.

In my opinion if we CAUTION him for USB then the misconduct occurs inside the penalty area and an iNDFK at the spot of the indiscrestion is called for.

The ball kicked over a touch line is by law a throw in for the opposition. I see no caution being shown for something that the referee dislikes rather than against the laws. Add ALL the time and warn such conduct is unnecessary because you will add the full time plus a bit to ensure the opposing team is NOT short changed.
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

There can be no penalty kick unless the keeper has comitted 1 of 9 penal fouls that would apply. ( Deliberately handling the ball inside his own pena;ty area does not apply). The keeper could have been cautioned if he did not release the ball within six seconds and the restart would have been an indirect free kick for the opponents from the point that he did NOT release the ball in time unless it was inside his own goal area in which case the ball would come out to the six yard line. That said, since the restart was a throw-in for the other team, the referee must have cautioned the keeper for delaying the restart of play. This is a gross MISTAKE on the part of the referee. Where or how the keeper releases the ball is not the business of the referee. Law 5 also gives the referee the power and duty to add time as he sees fit. Since there was a long period of time for the ball to be retrieved and thrown in, the referee should simply have added 30 seconds or so. What the keeper did is simply not punishable by a caution and showing of the yellow card. A referee doing this level game should know better.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15995
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>